Follow Philippe Legrain on Twitter Follow Philippe Legrain on YouTube Follow Philippe Legrain on Facebook Email me
By Philippe Legrain ADD COMMENTS

When eight ex-communist countries joined the EU in 2004, only Britain, Ireland and Sweden allowed their citizens to come work freely. 

On 1 January two more are joining: Bulgaria and Romania. But this time, Britain and Ireland have decided to impose restrictions on the new EU citizens’ right to work.

Among rich EU countries, only Sweden and Finland are opening their doors to Bulgarians and Romanians (as are all the ex-communist members, except Hungary). What a pity!

Posted 27 Dec 2006 in Blog

Leave a reply